Tags

, , , ,

Just spent a most fabulous weekend in Dublin catching up with some very old friends. I had forgotten how great Dublin is especially with a dose of Autumn sunshine. I spent a very pleasant Saturday wandering down Grafton street with friends shopping and drinking coffee as you do when there are no kids in tow. One shop worth mentioning is Avoca. If you are in Dublin it is a must as you will definitely finds presents for anyone here and also a few for yourself. This emporium is brimming with goodies – loads of stuff for the home, clothes, as well as the original Avoca tweeds, throws and blankets. Unfortunately or fortunately (for my wallet) I was flying with Ryanair so I had not much room in the bag or I would have spent a small fortune.

source: country-days.co.uk

Country brights from Avoca via country-days.co.uk

Also worth a look is an Irish institution, Brown Thomas and its sister shop BT2 across the road. Stocking all the luxury brands, there is definitely no sign of a recession here and the staff are very friendly.

image courtesy of Brown Thomas

Isabel Marant Display at Brown Thomas.

I was first hit with the Most gorgeous D & G boots in the window followed by this display as soon as I hit the clothing floor. I had to get out of there quick as I was like a kid in a sweetshop.

Next up worth mentioning was Bite Dublin at 29 South Frederick Street. Its billed as Fish and Chips with cocktails but this doen’t really do it justice as the food was to die for. The chilli popcorn as entrees were a brilliant idea but my favourite dish of the evening was the starter – prawns with crushed chickpeas and Harissa. This was truly inspired and I had wished I had remembered to take a picture of it but it was amazing. I’m salivating now just thinking of it.

My final recommendation for my little mini- break was the Trinity Capital Hotel. It couldn’t be more central, right beside Trinity College so never a need for taxis. I have stayed here a few times and its a great find and never disappoints. Its good value, the staff can’t do enough to help you and the decor is amazing. Here are some really cute decor details.

Moroccan lighting

“Corset” tie backs on the curtains – Love it !

Check out the Trinity Capital website to get further pictures of the rooms.

So back home now. I had a great weekend in Dublin and it was great to catch up with everyone. Anyone got any further recommendations for another mini break?

